Links

LOCAL MUSEUMS

Oregon Historical Society - ohs.org.  Based in Portland, Oregon;  this is the site for all general Oregon historical information, including maritime materials.

Columbia River Maritime Museum - crmm.org.  Located in Astoria, Oregon, this engaging museum illustrates the history of fisheries and shipping at the mouth of the Columbia River.

Clackamas County Historical Society - clackamashistory.org.  The Society operates the Museum of the Oregon Territory in Oregon City.  Exhibits focus on early Clackamas Country Oregon history from the time of covered wagons.  The Society also maintains a research library and manages tours of the home of an early Oregon City pioneer at the Stevens Crawford Heritage House.

Oregon Rail Heritage Foundation - orfh.org.  This organization preserves, maintains and operates three historic steam locomotives and associated hardware from the east bank of the Willamette River in Portland, Oregon.

Oregon Museum of Science and Industry - omsi.edu.  Oregon's largest general science museum features interactive and educational exhibits along with the submarine USS BLUEBACK.

Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum - evergreenmuseum.org.  Located in McMinnville, Oregon, this museum contains a comprehensive collection of airplanes, including the SPRUCE GOOSE. Aviation history is extensively outlined with examples and exhibits of actual aircraft, construction and technology.

Oregon Nikkei Legacy Center - oregonnikkei.org. Oregon Nikkei Legacy Center is a Japanese American history museum in Portland, charged with the preservation and sharing of the history and culture of the Japanese American community.

LOCAL MARITIME ORGANIZATIONS

Maritime Heritage Coalition - www.facebook.com/pages/Maritime-Heritage-Coalition.  Portland, Oregon based this recently created organization consists of all the marine associated groups in the area.  Its primary goal is to find a location for and build a maritime center, in Portland, Oregon, on the Willamette River with a land based facility and river exhibits including the steamer PORTLAND and PT 658.

PT 658 - savetheptboatinc.com.  Located on the Willamette River at Swan Island, this organization is restoring, maintaining and operating the last fully functional WW II PT boat.

Rivers West Small Craft Center - riverswest.org.  An excellent resource for the local craftsman looking to build a small boat.  They have shop space and educational programs at their facility on the Willamette River.

Willamette Sailing Club - willamettesailingclub.com.  This club offers small boat storage, sailing classes and summer camps on the Willamette River.

Portland Yacht Club - portlandyc.com.  A full service yacht club with moorage and operations for both powered and sailing vessels.

LOCAL SUPPORTERS

Shaver Transportation Company - shavertransportation.com.  Located in Portland, Oregon, this full service marine transport company serves the Columbia basin and the Northwest.

Port of Portland - portofportland.com.  This government agency oversees the airport and river ports for the Portland, Oregon metropolitan area.

Travel Portland - travelportland.com.  Things to do and see in Portland, Oregon.

Freshwater News - freshwaternews.com.  The News is a periodical dedicated to reporting the activities of the marine community of Oregon and the Portland area.

Vigor Industrial - vigorindustrial.com.  Vigor Industrial is a family of companies offering innovative marine and industrial services.

Pacific Industrial Service, Inc. - pacificindustrialservice.com.  Pacific Northwest leader in machine ship services and repairs. 

Meyer Memorial Trust - mmt.org.  Investing in people, ideas and efforts that deliver significant social benefit to Oregon and Clark County, Washington.

Oregon Community Foundation - oregoncf.org.  Here for Oregon.  Here for Good.

Juan Young trust - gosw.org/sites/juanyoungtrust

Kinsman Foundation - kinsmanfoundation.org.

PACIFIC NORTHWEST MARITIME ORGANIZATIONS

Center for Wooden Boats - cwb.org.  Located in Seattle, Washington, the center offers small boat building, sailing and adventures on Lake Union.

Foss Waterway Seaport - fosswaterwayseaport.org.  Located in Tacoma,Washington,  a growing center celebrates the Puget Sound’s rich maritime heritage.

Grays Harbor Historical Seaport - historicalseaport.org.  Based in Gray’s Harbor, Washington, the seaport operates two tall ships, the HAWAIIAN CHIEF and the LADY WASHINGTON. Both sail the West Coast making stops at events and cities great and small.

Coast Guard Museum of the Northwest - uscg.mil/baseseattle/museum.asp.  Located in Seattle, Washington and serving the entire Northwest, this facility encompasses photographic, written and artifact records of the service.

Steamboat W.T. PRESTON - museum.cityofanacortes.org/preston.htm.  Steam powered, stern wheel snag boat located at Anacortes, Washington, near the San Juan ferry terminal, this old steamer has all its original features and charm.

NATIONAL/INTERNATIONAL MARITIME ORGANIZATIONS

Mariners Museum - marinersmuseum.org.  America’s National Maritime Musuem located in Newport News, Virginia.

Mystic Seaport - mysticseaport.com.  Located in Mystic Seaport, Connecticut, the Museum of America and the Sea, celebrates coastal life in New England in the 19th century.

Port of London authority - pla.co.uk.  A resource for a regulatory look into the activities on the Thames including shipping and recreation.